

Levin College of Law Office of the Dean

Merritt McAlister Interim Dean and Levin, Mabie & Levin Professor of Law Spessard L. Holland Law Center PO Box 117620 Gainesville, FL 32611-7620 352-273-0600 www.law.ufl.edu

February 11, 2025

MEMORANDUM

TO:Full-Time Faculty, Levin College of LawFROM:Merritt McAlister, Interim Dean

RE: Faculty Meeting Agenda, February 18, 2025

Our tenth Faculty Meeting of the 2024-2025 academic year will take place in the Faculty Lounge on the third floor of Holland Hall on Tuesday, February 18, 2025. The meeting will begin at 12:00 noon and will end no later than 1:00 pm.

The agenda is as follows:

- 1. Action Item: Approve Faculty Meeting Minutes for January 28, 2024, attached (Dean McAlister)
- 2. Action Item: Nomination of two faculty senate seats (Dean McAlister)
- 3. Information Item: First Amendment email (Dean McAlister)
- 4. Information Item: Curriculum and Enrollment Brownbag on Tuesday, Feb 25th at 12 noon (Dean McAlister)
- 5. Information Item: Development update (Joe Mandernach & Kris Plunkett)

If you are unable to attend, please contact Peter Molk, who will discuss available options. Otherwise, I look forward to seeing you.

UF Levin College of Law Faculty Meeting Minutes January 28, 2025 - 12:00 noon

PRESENT: Derek Bambauer, Stacy Biggart, Yariv Brauner, Annie Brett, Juan Caballero, Dennis Calfee, Judy Clausen, Lisa De Sanctis, Donna Eng, Donna Erez-Navot, Barbara Evans, Mark Fenster, Ben Fernandez, Thomas Haley, Christopher Hampson, Kristen Hardy, David Hasen, Berta Hernandez-Truyol, Mindy Herzfeld, Jiaying Jiang, Benjamin Johnson, Lea Johnston, Elizabeth-Ann Katz, Zachary Kaufman, Matthew Kim, Heather Kolinsky, Gary Lawson, Lyrissa Lidsky, Sabrina Lopez, Lynn LoPucki, Merritt McAlister, Timothy McLendon, Silvia Menendez, Peter Molk, Thinh Nguyen, Lars Noah, Jane O'Connell, Joan Stearns Johnsen, Stacey Steinberg, John Stinneford, Lee-ford Tritt, Steven Willis, Sarah Wolking, Danaya Wright

PRESENT ON ZOOM: Thomas Hawkins, Amy Stein, Derek Wheeler

NOT PRESENT: Rachel Arnow-Richman, Karen Burke, Charles Collier, Julian Cook, William Hamilton, Elizabeth Lear, Charlene Luke, Tracey Maclin, Pedro Malavet, Jonathan Marshfield, Grayson McCouch, Robert Rhee, Paige Snelgro, Michael Wolf, Wentong Zheng

Meeting called to order at 12:01 pm.

1. Action Item: Approve Faculty Meeting Minutes for December 11, 2024. (Dean McAlister)

Interim Dean McAlister presented, and faculty considered the faculty meeting minutes for December 11, 2024.

Outcome: Minutes were approved.

2. Action Item: Approve Fall 2024 graduates, attached. (Dean McAlister)

Dean McAlister presented Fall 2024 graduates.

Outcome: Approved as presented.

3. Action Item: Approval of Courtesy Appointment, attached. (Dean McAlister)

Dean McAlister presented Jake S. Truscott for Courtesy Appointment.

Outcome: Approved as presented.

4. Action Item: Vote on Associate Professor offer to Alex Erwin, file on Canvas (Dean McAlister & Lidsky, chair)

Dean McAlister presented Alex Erwin as Associate Professor appointment.

Outcome: Electronic voting will take place after the meeting.

5. Information Item: Appointments Update (Bambauer, J., Brauner, co-chairs)

Professor Brauner presented an update and status of potential candidates.

Outcome: Information only.

6. Information Item: Academic Success and Bar Strategy Update (Lopez, chair)

Professor Lopez reviewed fall programs and presented Academic Success programs for the Spring. Outcome: Information only.

Meeting adjourned at 12:42 pm.