

Levin College of Law Office of the Dean

Merritt McAlister

Interim Dean and Levin, Mabie & Levin Professor of Law

Spessard L. Holland Law Center PO Box 117620 Gainesville, FL 32611-7620 352-273-0600 www.law.ufl.edu

March 4, 2025

## **MEMORANDUM**

TO: Full-Time Faculty, Levin College of Law

FROM: Merritt McAlister, Interim Dean

RE: Faculty Meeting Agenda, March 11, 2025

Our eleventh Faculty Meeting of the 2024-2025 academic year will take place in the Faculty Lounge on the third floor of Holland Hall on Tuesday, March 11, 2025. The meeting will begin at 12:00 noon and will end no later than 1:00 pm.

The agenda is as follows:

- 1. Action Item: Approve Faculty Meeting Minutes for February 18, 2025, attached (Dean McAlister)
- 2. Action Item: Presentation of candidates from the Appointments Committee (Brauner and Bambauer, J., co-chairs)
- 3. Information Item: Update from tax appointment committee (Brauner, chair)
- 4. Information Item: Brownbag on NextGen Bar Exam on March 12, 2025 (Dean Lopez)

Please note that candidate voting will take place electronically shortly after the conclusion of the meeting and will be open until 5 pm.

If you are unable to attend, please contact Peter Molk, who will discuss available options. Otherwise, I look forward to seeing you.

## UF Levin College of Law Faculty Meeting Minutes February 18, 2025 - 12:00 noon

PRESENT: Derek Bambauer, Stacy Biggart, Juan Caballero, Dennis Calfee, Judy Clausen, Julian Cook, Lisa De Sanctis, Donna Eng, Donna Erez-Navot, Barbara Evans, Mark Fenster, Ben Fernandez, Thomas Haley, Christopher Hampson, David Hasen, Thomas Hawkins, Berta Hernandez-Truyol, Jiaying Jiang, Benjamin Johnson, Lea Johnston, Zachary Kaufman, Matthew Kim, Gary Lawson, Elizabeth Lear, Sabrina Lopez, Lynn LoPucki, Charlene Luke, Merritt McAlister, Timothy McLendon, Silvia Menendez, Peter Molk, Thinh Nguyen, Lars Noah, Jane O'Connell, Stacey Steinberg, John Stinneford, Lee-ford Tritt, Derek Wheeler, Steven Willis, Sarah Wolking, Danaya Wright, Wentong Zheng.

PRESENT ON ZOOM: Joan Stearns Johnsen

NOT PRESENT: Rachel Arnow-Richman, Yariv Brauner, Annie Brett, Karen Burke, Charles Collier, William Hamilton, Kristen Hardy, Mindy Herzfeld, Elizabeth-Ann Katz, Heather Kolinsky, Lyrissa Lidsky, Tracey Maclin, Pedro Malavet, Jonathan Marshfield, Grayson McCouch, Robert Rhee, Paige Snelgro, Amy Stein, Michael Wolf.

Meeting called to order at 12:01 pm.

1. Action Item: Approve Faculty Meeting Minutes for January 28, 2025. (Dean McAlister)

Interim Dean McAlister presented, and faculty considered the faculty meeting minutes for January 28, 2025.

Outcome: Minutes were approved.

2. Action Item: Nomination of two Faculty Senate seats (Dean McAlister)

Faculty nominated and confirmed candidate to two Faculty Senate seats.

Outcome: Lee-ford Tritt and Derek Wheeler will serve on the Faculty Senate for the 2025-26 academic year.

3. Information Item: First Amendment email (Dean McAlister)

Dean McAlister discussed background information related to the first amendment email sent February 10, 2025.

Outcome: Information only.

4. Information Item: Curriculum and Enrollment Brownbag on Tuesday, Feb 25<sup>th</sup> at 12 noon (Dean McAlister)

Dean McAlister announced the Brownbag to be held related to curriculum and enrollment.

Outcome: Information only.

5. Information Item: Development update (Joe Mandernach & Kris Plunkett)

Dean Mandernach presented information on financial endowments and gifts. Kris Plunkett discussed methods to enhance development relationships and the importance of faculty involvement.

Outcome: Information only.

Meeting adjourned at 12:31 pm.