

**Levin College of Law** Office of the Dean

**Merritt McAlister** Interim Dean and Levin, Mabie & Levin Professor of Law Spessard L. Holland Law Center PO Box 117620 Gainesville, FL 32611-7620 352-273-0600 www.law.ufl.edu

April 1, 2025

## MEMORANDUM

TO: Full-Time Faculty, Levin College of Law

FROM: Merritt McAlister, Interim Dean

RE: Faculty Meeting Agenda, April 8, 2025

Our twelfth Faculty Meeting of the 2024-2025 academic year will take place in the Faculty Lounge on the third floor of Holland Hall on Tuesday, April 8, 2025. The meeting will begin at 12:00 noon and will end no later than 1:00 pm.

The agenda is as follows:

- 1. Action Item: Approve Faculty Meeting Minutes for March 11, 2025, attached (Dean McAlister)
- 2. Action Item: Presentation of candidates from the Appointments Committee (Brauner and Bambauer, J., co-chairs)
- 3. Information Item: Rankings update (Dean McAlister)
- 4. Information Item: Update on Centers (Dean McAlister)

Please note that candidate voting will take place electronically shortly after the conclusion of the meeting and will be open until 5 pm.

If you are unable to attend, please contact Peter Molk, who will discuss available options. Otherwise, I look forward to seeing you.

## UF Levin College of Law Faculty Meeting Minutes March 11, 2025 - 12:00 noon

PRESENT:. Rachel Arnow-Richman, Derek Bambauer, Stacy Biggart, Yariv Brauner, Juan Caballero, Dennis Calfee, Judy Clausen, Julian Cook, Donna Eng, Barbara Evans, Ben Fernandez, Thomas Haley, Christopher Hampson, Thomas Hawkins, Berta Hernandez-Truyol, Jiaying Jiang, Benjamin Johnson, Lea Johnston, Elizabeth-Ann Katz, Matthew Kim, Heather Kolinsky, Gary Lawson, Elizabeth Lear, Sabrina Lopez, Lynn LoPucki, Charlene Luke, Merritt McAlister, Timothy McLendon, Silvia Menendez, Peter Molk, Thinh Nguyen, Lars Noah, Jane O'Connell, Joan Stearns Johnsen, Stacey Steinberg, Lee-ford Tritt, Derek Wheeler, Steven Willis, Sarah Wolking, Danaya Wright, Wentong Zheng.

PRESENT ON ZOOM: Donna Erez-Navot, Mark Fenster, William Hamilton, David Hasen, Zachary Kaufman, Robert Rhee, Amy Stein.

NOT PRESENT: Annie Brett, Karen Burke, Charles Collier, Lisa De Sanctis, Kristen Hardy, Mindy Herzfeld, Lyrissa Lidsky, Tracey Maclin, Pedro Malavet, Jonathan Marshfield, Grayson McCouch, Paige Snelgro, John Stinneford, Michael Wolf.

Meeting called to order at 12:02 pm.

1. Action Item: Approve Faculty Meeting Minutes for February 18, 2025. (Dean McAlister)

Interim Dean McAlister presented, and faculty considered the faculty meeting minutes for February 18, 2025.

Outcome: Minutes were approved.

2. Action Item: Presentation of candidates from the Appointments Committee (Brauner and Bambauer, J., co-chairs)

Professor Brauner presented the candidate, Megan Wright. Faculty discussed and considered the candidate. Brauner provided an update on the ongoing committee work and upcoming candidates.

Outcome: voting will take place electronically at the conclusion of the meeting

3. Information Item: Update from tax appointment committee (Brauner, chair)

Professor Brauner discussed the committee charge and process and informed the faculty that they committee would begin scheduling job talks with potential candidates. Dean McAlister solicited feedback from faculty on the hiring process for Professors of Practice, and the faculty considered and discussed optional processes.

Outcome: Information only.

4. Information Item: Brownbag on NextGen Bar Exam on March 12, 2025 (Dean Lopez)

Dean Lopez reminded faculty of the Brown bag scheduled for tomorrow to discuss the NextGen Bar Exam.

Outcome: Information only.

Meeting adjourned at 12:50 pm.